Key People


The President is elected by the Annual Conference of members, and serves a 3-year term.  The incumbent can seek re-election for further 3-year terms.  The President is a serving member of Police, seconded full time to the Association, and chairs the Association Board of Directors, and the Police Welfare Fund Ltd Board.

Chris Cahill

The current President of the NZ Police Association is:

Chris Cahill

Chris is a Detective Inspector, seconded full time to the Association National Office. He was elected to the position at the Annual Conference in 2016, for a three-year term.

Chris has been involved with the Association since 1994 in a range of positions - as a committee member, chairman, pay adviser, region director and vice-president.


National Secretary 

The National Secretary is appointed by Conference Delegates, and holds office for such term and conditions as determined by Conference.  

Greg Fleming

The current National Secretary is:

Greg Fleming

As the Association’s Industrial Advocate, Greg is a member of the management team and leads the industrial officers at National Office.

Since joining the Association in 1986, Greg has become known for his expertise in pay round settlement processes and outcomes and related law and order issues.

Greg was appointed National Secretary in 2017.


Chief Operating Officer 

The Chief Operating Officer manages operations at National Office.

Fiona McKissock

The current Chief Operating Officer is:

Fiona McKissock

Fiona was appointed in 2017, and brings with her managerial, project and consultancy experience across diverse commercial and leadership portfolios in New Zealand, in Australia and in the UK.

Previously she was General Manager of Crighton Anderson Property and Infrastructure in Christchurch.



Two Vice-Presidents are elected by the Annual Conference for 3-year terms. Elections for each Vice-President post take place in alternating years between presidential election years, so that there is one presidential or vice-presidential each year. 

The current Vice-Presidents are:

  • Senior Sergeant Craig Tickelpenny, Wellington

  • Detective Senior Sergeant Marcia Murray, Auckland


Board of Directors 

The Association Board of Directors comprises the President, two Vice-Presidents and one elected Regional Director for each of our seven Regions. All Region Directors are serving members of Police.

Governance of the Association and its welfare functions is vested in the Board of Directors, who meet monthly. The Board reports to Conference Delegates as required by the Association's Constitution in the performance of its functions and duties, and also in relation to any specific issues requiring Conference attention.  

The current members of the Association Board of Directors are:

  • Chris Cahill (President/Chairperson)

  • Craig Tickelpenny (Vice-President)

  • Marcia Murray (Vice-President)

  • Murray Fenton (Region 1 - Waitemata and Northland)

  • Emiel Logan (Region 2 - Auckland and Counties Manukau)

  • Scott Thompson (Region 3 - Waikato and Bay of Plenty)

  • Paul Ormerod (Region 4 - Eastern and Central)

  • Pat Thomas (Region 5 - Wellington)

  • Mike McRandle (Region 6 - Tasman and Canterbury)

  • Grant Gerken (Region 7 - Southern)

The Directors also sit on the Police Welfare Fund Ltd Board, which meets bi-monthly, along with a representative for:

  • The Police Commissioner

  • Retired Members

  • Managers’ Guild